In association with Tewkesbury Food Festival the Abbey Gatehouse will be open for free to visit this weekend from 10am-4pm.
Now owned by the Landmark Trust the Abbey Gatehouse, was built around 1500. The abbey church and its great gate survived the dissolution, after which the gatehouse served as a lodging block. Over the centuries however, it gradually fell into disrepair. It was saved from dereliction in 1849 by architect James Medland. In the 1970s the Abbey Lawn Trust offered the lease of the gatehouse to the Landmark Trust and it has been in their care ever since. Modern conveniences have been cleverly inserted into the first floor rooms, creating a welcoming lodging block for the 21st century visitor, from which to explore the surrounding town.
T: 01628 825925